Explorations in Media Ecology {EME}

The Journal of the Media Ecology Association

Explorations in Media Ecology {EME} the journal of the Media Ecology Association, is an international journal dedicated to extending our understanding of media and media environments. EME welcomes diverse theoretical and methodological approaches to the study of media environments, including (but not limited to) philosophical, aesthetic, literary, historical, psychological, sociological, anthropological, political, economic, and scientific investigations, as well as applied, professional, and pedagogical perspectives. In addition to scholarly articles, EME also publishes essays, commentary, and critical examinations relevant to media ecology as a field of study and practice.

Guidelines for Submission

Prospective authors should submit their manuscripts electronically through the publisher’s online document submission portal. Go to the website for Intellect Books at http://www.intellectbooks.co.uk/journals/view-Journal,id=214/ and click on the “Submit” button to be directed to the document submission portal. Registration is required.

For questions or problems with document submission, contact current editor Paul Grosswiler (paulg{at}maine.edu), editor-elect Calvin Troup (cltroup{at}geneva.edu), or editorial assistant Joshua Hill (hillj5{at}duq.edu). Current submissions are being reviewed by editor-elect Calvin Troup.

Submissions should be no longer than 25 pages (including tables and figures), although articles of different lengths will be considered. All submissions should be the author's original work, previously unpublished, and not under consideration by another publisher. Manuscripts must conform to the publisher's journal style guide based on the Harvard referencing system, available at http://www.intellectbooks.co.uk/journals/page/index,name=journalstyleguide/. Authors of accepted manuscripts must provide a final version in both paper and electronic formats. Authors are responsible for obtaining permission to reprint copyrighted material.

Double-space the entire manuscript, including title page, abstract, text, quotations, acknowledgments, references, appendixes, tables, figure captions, and footnotes.

To facilitate blind review, the first page of the manuscript should include only the article title and an abstract of no more than 100 words. A separate Word file cover page should be provided that includes the title of the article, the complete name of each author as it is to appear in the journal, the current and complete mailing address, telephone, fax, and email address of each author.

EME welcomes submissions focusing on teaching strategies, resources, insights, and controversies. Articles may take many forms including annotated syllabi, accounts of particular teaching experiences, and innovative approaches to topics in media ecology. In addition, articles may be developed from conversations between scholars about course content or teaching techniques. Such submissions or ideas should be sent to the Pedagogy Editor:

Alex Kuskis
EME Pedagogy Editor
900 Gzowski Street
Fergus, Ontario
Canada N1M3V9


Submission of Materials and Books for Review

EME publishes reviews of books and other materials, such as audio and video recordings, computer software, etc. Send copies of all materials and/or all correspondence to the Reviews Editor:

Brian Cogan
Communications Department
W114 Wilbur Arts Center
Molloy College
1000 Hempstead Avenue
Rockville Center, NY 11571

Managing Editor

Nicole Maggio
Department of Communication and Journalism
420 Dunn Hall
University of Maine
Orono, ME 04469

Associate Editors

Susan B. Barnes - Rochester Institute of Technology
Erik P. Bucy - Indiana University
María de la Luz Casas Pérez - Tecnológico de Monterrey, Cuernavaca
Susan Drucker - Hofstra University
Raymond Gozzi, Jr. - Ithaca College
Lorens Holm - University of Dundee
Paul Levinson - Fordham University
Casey Man Kong Lum - William Paterson University
Eric McLuhan - University of Toronto
Paul A. Soukup, SJ - Santa Clara University
Lance Strate - Fordham University
Rosemarie Truglio - Sesame Workshop

Editorial Board

Robert Albrecht - New Jersey City University
Richard Barbrook - University of Westminster
Yariv Ben-Eliezer - Interdisciplinary Center, Herzlia
Eva Berger - The College of Management, Tel Aviv
Jay David Bolter - Georgia Institute of Technology
James W. Chesebro - Ball State University
Clifford G. Christians - University of Illinois, Urbana - Champaign
Frank E. X. Dance - University of Denver
Ronald J. Deibert - University of Toronto
Scott Eastham - Massey University
Gerald J. Erion - Medaille College
Thomas J. Farrell - University of Minnesota, Duluth
Donald Fishman - Boston College
John Miles Foley - University of Missouri, Columbia
Édison Gastaldo - Universidade do Vale do Rio dos Sinos
Thomas F. Gencarelli - Manhattan College
Kenneth J. Gergen - Swarthmore College
Stephanie B. Gibson - University of Baltimore
Twyla Gibson - University of Toronto
Jack Goody - Cambridge University
Bruce E. Gronbeck - University of Iowa
Gary Gumpert - Urban Communication Foundation
Fernando Gutiérrez - Tecnológico de Monterrey, Estado de México
Robert Hassan - The University of Melbourne
N. Katherine Hayles - University of California, Los Angeles
Paul Heyer - Wilfrid Laurier University
Octavio Islas - Tecnológico de Monterrey, Estado de México
Harvey Jassem - University of Hartford
Ethan Katsh - University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Neil Kleinman - University of the Arts
Pamela Walker Laird - University of Colorado, Denver
Elena Lamberti - University of Bologna
Dong-Hoo Lee - University of Incheon
Judith Yaross Lee - Ohio University
Paul Lippert - East Stroudsburg University
Robert K. Logan - University of Toronto
Joshua Meyrowitz - University of New Hampshire
Julianne H. Newton - University of Oregon
David R. Olson - University of Toronto
Camille Paglia - University of the Arts
John Pauly - Marquette University
Catherine Waite Phelan - Hamilton College
Borys Potyatynyk - Lviv Franko National University
John H. Powers - Hong Kong Baptist University
Harald E. L. Prins - Kansas State University
Douglas Rushkoff - New York University
Denise Schmandt-Besserat - University of Texas, Austin
Thomas A. Shippey - Saint Louis University
Stuart J. Sigman - Naropa University
Joseph W. Slade - Ohio University
Anthony Smith - Oxford University
Janet Sternberg - Fordham University
Sara van den Berg - Saint Louis University
Edward A. Wachtel - Fordham University
Lawrence Wallack - Portland State University
Frederick Wasser - Brooklyn College, CUNY
Robert A. White, S.J. - St. Augustine University of Tanzania
Julia T. Wood - University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Past Editorial Board Members
Walter J. Ong - Saint Louis University
Neil Postman - New York University
Donald F. Theall - Trent University
Frank Zingrone - York University

Past Editors

Lance Strate - Fordham University (Vol. 1, No. 1–Vol. 6, No. 4)
Corey Anton - Grand Valley State University (Vol. 7, No. 1–Vol. 9, No. 4)
Peter K. Fallon - Roosevelt University (Vol. 10, Nos. 1 & 2)

Past Co-Editors
Judith Yaross Lee - Ohio University (Vol. 1, No. 1–Vol. 3, No. 1)
Peter K. Fallon - Roosevelt University (Vol. 10, Nos. 3 & 4)
Past Managing Editors

Teodora Carabas - Ohio University (Vol. 1, No. 1–Vol. 3, No. 1)
Elizabeth K. Fitzgerald - Fordham University (Vol. 3, No. 2–Vol. 4, No. 4)
Cheryl Casey - New York University (Vol. 5, No. 1–Vol. 6, No. 4)
Valerie Peterson - Grand Valley State University (Vol. 7, No. 1–Vol. 9, No. 4)

Past Business Manager

Janet Sternberg - Fordham University (Vol. 1, No. 1–Vol. 4, No. 4)



Copyright ©1999– Media Ecology Association. All Rights Reserved